Home > article, othersites, writing > More permission to write horribly

More permission to write horribly

Just a quick jot to link to this awesome article about fear in writing: I’ve done it, probably you’ve done it. Stared at the screen or page wondering what is going to go there. It’s your internal editor heading you off at the pass, saying “You don’t have anything brilliant to write. Just don’t bother!”

Well, we have to fight that feeling. For every excuse, there is an equal and opposite excuse-killer. Our job is finding it.

Michelle Russell at Copyblogger lists 5 reasons why we should throw caution to the wind and write the Most Horrible Blog Post (or story, for that matter) Ever:

  1. It’ll Give You Courage
  2. You’ll Fail Faster
  3. Happy Accidents Happen
  4. Nobody Likes Perfect People
  5. People Need You

Go check Michelle’s article out. Now I have to go write badly horribly. Keep cranking!

Categories: article, othersites, writing
  1. August 3, 2009 at 5:00 pm | #1

    Great advice, and thanks for posting. You say Michelle Russell says to write the most horrible blog. I try my very best to do that at my WordPress site. Perhaps you could tell me your thoughts on which horrible it is.

  2. gtwade
    August 3, 2009 at 5:20 pm | #2

    Zadren, I’ve had a look at your blog. It’s not my style, to say the least. Thanks for checking out my post & I hope you find something of value here.

  3. August 3, 2009 at 5:37 pm | #3

    I’ll take that as “horrible” then. It’s a cup of tea not for everyone that’s for sure. Thanks for responding! And there is value in your postings. I hope to see more.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

