Home > article, meta, progreport > Where am I?

Where am I?

Well, it’s been a long, long time since I actually wrote anything here. Right now I’m doing some productive procrastinating, but this blog has been on my mind for a while. I keep thinking I should be writing, Mur, but it just doesn’t happen.

A lot has been going on. You–my faithful readers–are aware that I’ve been laid off of work. I’m still laid off, and it’s been 4 months already. It seems that even though there are companies out there that want chemists they don’t want me. That’s fine. I’m going in another direction now, anyhow. And I think I’ll be better at this new thing.

Starting at the end of last August, I started classes at MATC to get an Associates degree in Programming. Yes, computer programming! For those who know me, that isn’t much of a surprise. I’ve loved computers almost as long as I’ve loved reading, and that’s a long time. I should have taken this course years ago. No, I’m not regretting the decisions I’ve made in the past. From them I got my wife and my son, and I wouldn’t trade them for anything this world has to offer. What I’m saying now is that, because my current employment status has been decided for me I think now it’s time for a change. Call it a mid-life crisis come early, because I can’t see myself getting a red Mustang when I’m 50.

What does this mean for my writing? Right now it’s taking a back seat to my schooling. It’s still there, and it’s also a love I’ve had since I understood I could also make stories instead of just read them. I think it’s the creative part of me that wants to get out. Programming computers, believe it or not, is very creative. In a way it’s beautiful and elegant, just like a good story that’s well told. It comes from the same love for expression that writing comes from.

Right now I’m taking a short break from writing. Writing fiction, that is. As for freelancing, maybe I’ll tell that story some other time. I’ve tried it, and maybe I haven’t given it the chance it deserves, but for me it’s not a path I want to go down. All the stories in my head are still there. Some day, hopefully a ┬ánot too distant day, I’ll get them out into the wild.

No, right now I want to be a programmer. I want to be a computer ubergeek. I want to get into the whole thing. So, I’ll be all about that now. I think I’ll start a blog about the journey to geekdom in the near future, and how life is going on around it. When it’s up and running, and if I really have anything worth saying, I’ll post the link here.

Until then, keep cranking and happy storytelling!

Categories: article, meta, progreport
  1. Mark Urbanski
    September 23, 2010 at 12:10 am | #1

    I am a former chemist/scientist (22 yrs) and a former-but-hopefully-will-be-again programmer who happens to be taking a class with you. I just wanted to say that your blog has been inspiring. Creating content (short stories, novels, blogs, programs, etc.) is hard work. Talking about the hard work makes it a bit easier for you, but it also helps the reader. I think I will try to create a blog, or website, or something. I am still fuzzy about the details, but your journey has been a good guide. So keep cranking, whether it is stories, or code, or whatever. I’ll keep reading, and learning.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

