Home > reading > What am I reading?

What am I reading?

Just this last year I got back into reading again. Tech school and the day-to-day distractions of life kept me from reading for fun. But as a writer, reading is an essential part of the craft. We need it to understand what writing is, good and bad, and to focus on writing.

Without neglecting important things (and I’ll be writing about balance in a later post), I think I’ve found a way to get more reading into my life. The key is being prepared to seize all opportunities. Princess and I had an international flight in June; I read Stranger in a Strange Land on the plane. I try to work out every morning on the stationary bike; I am rereading the Foundation trilogy. I have a half-hour for lunch at work; I read I Am Legend, reread Feersum Endjinn, and have started Ringworld. Compared to the past few years, I’m doing pretty good the past year!

So, periodically I will post what I am reading and when I start a new book. I also hope to post a ‘retro review’ of any books I have re-read, or that are old enough to count as retro.

What am I reading now? Second Foundation by Isaac Asimov, and Ringworld by Larry Niven. The former is part of a bound trilogy that I started to read late last year, and so it’s a little awkward to carry around. I’m almost done with it. The latter is a paperback that fits nicely into my messenger bag and so is portable. That’s probably the only reason I’m reading two stories at once. But, it’s a relief to be reading again!

Categories: reading Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

