Home > Uncategorized > The Project List

The Project List

Once your ubiquitous capture tool is in place, some of the ideas will coalesce into something bigger. Whatever you call these somethings, some of them are the nucleus of a story. What do you do with them?

The coalescing may take some time. Don’t force it. This is the point where some subconscious gear cranking happens. The ideas are just ideas right now, but your story making center in the brain is now free to tinker.

Now is a good time to make a list. If you’re like me, you already have a few unfinished short stories or books. Put those on the list! Don’t write down a lot of details, just the title if you have one, or a phrase that sums up the story. Some of these ideas are not fully realized, but instead are only half stories, missing that certain something that makes it a whole story. On this list will go the ideas percolating out of your ubiquitous capture tool, the ur-stories.

This is your Project List. This is the list you want to work from, taking one at a time and focusing on it until it is done. For example, my short story is the current WIP (Work In Process). As I’ve noted in the last progress report, I’ve decided to finish the few changes on it and submit it to the Critters workshop. By the end of the week, I hope to have that bad boy uploaded and in the Critter queue. Then I move on to the next project. My short story is not  done, but it is at a point where I am waiting on someone else to act, in this case Critters. What will be the next project? Not necessarily the one at the top of the list. But probably the one that will need the least amount of work, another short story that is half written and waiting for my attention.

If you find that you work better with a list, give this a try and let me know if you like it. However, we’re not done with the List. It’s a good start. In my next post, I’ll talk about what to do with each of those items on your Project List.

(BTW, sorry this post is late! I try to have them come out at the same time each time, but I’m running into my first real blogging challenge: the schedule. I try to have a few posts scheduled ahead of time, but I’ve allowed myself to fall behind a little. I’ll try not to let this happen again without reason. Keep cranking!)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

