Home > reading > What I’m reading now

What I’m reading now

Just last week I finished Ringworld by Larry Niven. What a ride! I’ll try to get out a Retro Review about this excellent book soon.

Now, to move on to the next book. What will I read…what will I read? There are all sorts of great books out there. I have book money burning a hole in my pocket. I’m thinking of making a book page on this blog, where I will list all the books I want to read, and which I have finished recently. (If I tried to list all the books I’ve read, I think the page would be too big!)

My real dilemma is how to spend the book money. I already know what I’m going to read; more on that below. But, the short list for the shopping spree is:

  • Old Man’s War by John Scalzi. I’ve read the first chapter already from the complete pdf that was available recently. Now I want to read the whole thing, and the best way is to buy the book!
  • Marseguro by Edward Willett. I’ve heard about its sequel Terra Inseguro and thought the idea was pretty neat.
  • The City & the City by China Miéville. Wow what a story concept. And when I heard him being interviewed on I Should Be Writing, I thought I just had to read his stuff!

That’s the very short list. There are so many others!

But, what am I going to read next? That’s simple. I’ve decided to mix up my fiction and non-fiction writing. My next read is Plot & Structure by James Scott Bell. I think I lack some ability in the area of plot. Maybe it’s just a lack of confidence on my part. No matter. If there is something I could do to improve my craft, I owe it to myself to do it. I’ve already read the first chapter and am looking forward to the rest of the book. I’ll give a review of it just like I hope to be doing for the fiction I read. 

Have a great weekend & keep cranking!

Categories: reading
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

