Home > Uncategorized > Writing Site Review: I Should Be Writing

Writing Site Review: I Should Be Writing

Where can you go? What can you do? Where can you get advice on writing? The story is burning a hole in your soul and you want to get it out, but how? Many of us need advice about writing; we need it because we are new at the process, or are afraid of it, or unsure if what we want to write is good enough or new enough.

Enter all the writing resources on the Internet. There are tons of them. Yes, I hope this blog is one of them! But as for myself, I also enjoy so many of the others, I thought I’d bring them to you in periodic posts.

The first one, of course, is I Should Be Writing. This is the first writing podcast I found, and boy was I glad I did. 

Now, when I first logged onto this site, Mur Lafferty (the writer) called it “For wanna-be fiction writers by a wanna-be fiction writer.” But, that’s changed to “For wanna-be fiction writers by a writer who’s still learning.” That’s because in the meantime, Mur has published her works in hardcover, as well as via Podiobooks. That’s good news for all of us wanna-bes! And that’s what her message is to us: if she can do it with some creativity and honest hard work, then so can the rest of us.

Mur’s advice is down to earth and well-founded. Her struggles with developing a regular writing habit, with editing, with finding an agent, with self-publishing are all there and ready for us to listen to and benefit from. Be sure to check out her rules for writing. Also, Mur talks a lot about how the Internet has affected how writers need to approach their craft from a self-promotion perspective. She has interviewed many established writers, such as James Patrick Kelly, Cory Doctorow, Connie Willis, China Miéville, and Neil Gaiman! There are more, you just have to go and see!

And that’s my point: go, check out I Should Be Writing. Subscribe to it with whatever podcatcher makes you happy. Then come back and thank me. Go now!

Now, I’ve gotta go, because I should be cranking plot.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. June 8, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Thanks for the fabulous review! I’m so glad you’re enjoying the site.

  2. June 9, 2009 at 6:31 am

    Congrats on winning the most recent caption contest, Guy — could you please email me your address so I can send you your Inkygirl cards? inkygirl [at] gmail [dot] com. Thanks!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

