Home > meta > A little change in schedule…

A little change in schedule…

…or rather, a little owning up and making it official! All my millions of followers here at Cranking Plot have no doubt noticed but been too kind to make a fuss about it. But, I have not been posting as regularly as I have wanted. Or, more to the point, I haven’t been posting as regularly as I said I would. The current rigors of getting the house ready for baby have left me with little or no time of my own where I can write blog posts. I even have to whittle little bits of time out for writing fiction.

This both bothers me and it doesn’t. Obviously my wife and I are approaching a paradigm-shifting life event that will mean a lot of work in the near future. We are in awe of our coming responsibilities and eagerly awaiting the baby’s birth. So, it feels right to focus on all the preparation. But I realize that any writing carreer I am to have has hit a slow period that will continue until we get over the learning curve that is fast approaching.

This manifests itself in a slow blog. Please be patient with me. I will get back into a more productive routine relatively soon. In the past I said I would post 3 times a week: Wednesday, Friday, and Sunday. At this time I will only commit to once a week, most likely on Fridays. If I don’t keep up with that you have permission to hurt my feelings.

So, I’ll keep cranking family AND cranking plot. You keep cranking, too.

Categories: meta
  1. August 13, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Guy, to me a promise to post three times a week sounds scary, even for a “normal” life with no baby coming. I guess I’m chicken but I find I do better with internal pressure if I don’t make commitments about these things unless I have to (eg., a deadline for someone else). I don’t even make one for my newsletter. It’s kinda monthly but never on a promised date.

    But that’s the thing about being a writer. We’re all different and have different needs and motivators. Such a great thing that we can express ourselves about it online these days and exchange views. There was nothing of the sort back when I started.

    (Yes, I’m old enough to be someone’s grandmother. Very proud that my grandson turned one in June! And I hear ya on the baby stuff. Stayed with my daughter for a week when Atreyu was 10 months old and I couldn’t believe the gargantuan work load that little one created. All while being so heart-stoppingly cute no one was heard to grumble ;~)

  2. gtwade
    August 14, 2009 at 8:23 am

    Y’know, you’re right. I guess I’m just getting to know about how to run a blog. Letting go of such high expectations has been a relief, and now I don’t feel so guilty. Getting one post out a week is a good pace for now. Thanks for the encouraging words!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

