Home > article, othersites, reviews > First Clean Reads Book Review

First Clean Reads Book Review

Yesterday my first guest post was posted at Clean Reads, a review of Isaac Asimov’s Foundation. Essentially it’s a reposting of the review I wrote for this site, with a brief intro to science fiction and speculative fiction added for the unitiated.

This was my first guest blog anywhere, and I admit I was a little intimidated at the thought. It’s like sending your manuscript to an editor and waiting for their form-letter rejection notice. Just because it’s someone else’s blog (instead of a magazine or publisher) doesn’t mean your article will be automatically accepted. Laura, hopefully you used the same editorial selectivity when posting my review! šŸ™‚

Thanks to Laura Fabiani for inviting me to be a guest poster! I appreciated being able to add my review to her website, because I believe that reading a good book or an important book does not automatically mean that the reader has to read a lot of profanity, violence, or spiritism.

Incidentally, Laura would like me to mention that she is hosting a book giveaway at her site. Go check it out & you may come away with one or two good reads.

Categories: article, othersites, reviews
  1. September 28, 2009 at 10:39 am

    Not much to edit, your article was great! And my readers appreciated having your take on science fiction explained. Thanks, Guy.

  2. October 1, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    Guest posting *is* surprisingly intimidating. I completely froze up when I sat down to write my first guest post. Couldn’t get a single thought to sound right. And the really ironic part was that I was writing about how I didn’t believe in writer’s block! :p

  3. gtwade
    October 4, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    I know, right? I cheated a little bit by using a review that I had already posted here. How does someone write a guest blog from scratch? I guess it is similar to writing an article for one’s own blog, except that it has to almost match the voice of the other blog. I am still working on just writing articles, for practice and for a portfolio. Any tips on how one comes up with interesting ideas would be most appreciated.

    BTW, thanks for posting a comment, I appreciate it. Mostly it is just me & the crickets here so far, with few commenters.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

