Home > Uncategorized > The state of it…

The state of it…

Who was it that said the difference between a writer and a non-writer is that the non-writer has a lot of ideas for books, but that the writer actually gets them down on paper? That’s kinda what’s going on right now in my house. The Boy is sopping up all our attention and thought processes, and I have barely gotten any words down. Oh, there are still plenty of ideas in the old noggin! But they are biding their time until they can be written down.

With that being said, I am seriously thinking about using a digital recorder when I drive to work. I’ve hemmed and hawed about it in the past, but now may be the time. If anyone has any ideas about how to make it work, I’d appreciate your $.02 because I feel like unless I know what I have to say, it won’t come out. I’ve done some recording of notes, but not actual storytelling. Would it make sense to start my recording session with some purpose in mind? Maybe if I could just work out a story outline beforehand, then I can get in the car, fire up the recorder, and just record one scene, for instance. Is that how people use their recorder? I may have to put that question out on some writing forums and see what others do.

Also, I am trying to get some freelance gigs. I’ve subscribed to some blogs that post a digest of job boards. I would love to make some money doing what I love the most.

How are you doing? My crank is a little rusty. How have you been able to keep your writing going?

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: ,
  1. October 16, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    Hey Guy,
    You might like this article about how to use the voice recorder:
    http://nouveauwriter.blogspot.com/2009/05/this-tape-will-not-self-destruct-in.html
    I also always carry a notebook everywhere I go, and I learned to jot down ideas, phrases, quotes and the like, on the go.
    Hope this helps!
    Laura

  2. gtwade
    October 16, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    Thanks, Laura! I remember that post & just reviewed it now. I like the part about using it to record an impromptu dialog between characters. I’ll have to give that a shot. Also, I will attempt to use the recorder in a very purposeful way, expecting to get a certain result out of each use, such as a specific scene in a story. Hopefully I can post some good results soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

