Home > article, othersites, writing > Will you NoWri this November?

Will you NoWri this November?

We are fast approaching the most exciting month of the year. November! Now, some (here in the US, at any rate) get excited because they are looking forward to their next supersaturation of L-tryptophan, but not this humble wordsmith. No, November 1st at 12 o’clock a.m. begins the hallowed National Novel Writing Month. nano_09_blk_support_100x100_2

NaNoWriMo — as it is known to those who love it — is the wonderful month-long foray into sleep deprivation and overclocking of the plot crank, yes, that caffeine-driven deluge of words on page without rhyme, reason, or regard to personal safety. If you’ve done it right, on November 30th at 11:59:59 p.m. you will have several things: 1) 50,000 words of a previously unrealized novel, 2) friends and family who complain they don’t see you enough, 3) a mean coffee monkey, and 4) serious bragging rights. What you will also have is an obligation to finish what you so hastily started: a novel!

Alas, I will not be participating in NaNoWriMo this year (heavy sigh). There is quite enough to do in the Wade household with The Boy now starting his third month of benevolent dictatorship. But I did want to weigh in with my full support to anyone who is curious about it or is planning to give it a go. Do it! It will be worth it. Go to the NaNoWriMo website and sign up. Just having access to the forums is worth the price of admission. Well, it’s free to sign up, but…you know what I mean.

There are also many bloggers out there who are posting NaNoWriMo content this month and the next, posts about how they are doing it and giving excellent tips on how to make it through this next great month of November. I’ll have another post, soon I hope, with links to some of those. In the meantime, all of you my faithful and teeming trove of readers are welcome to post comments here about their NaNoWriMo experiences and tips as well.

TTFN and keep cranking!

Categories: article, othersites, writing
  1. October 24, 2009 at 8:57 pm

    Would love to participate in this! But I don’t get enough sleep as it is. I will just need to keep cranking it one day at a time.

  2. gtwade
    October 26, 2009 at 10:49 am

    Have you done NaNoWriMo before? I wonder how many published authors do.

  3. October 27, 2009 at 8:56 am

    Nope. Never did it. But the reason I would love to do it is so that I have an excuse to let go of everything and just write! Is that realistic for me, though? Not with kids and my busy schedule. *sigh* My other option would be to lock myself up in a remore cabin up north somewhere during the winter holidays…

  4. September 15, 2013 at 2:22 am

    I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in penning this blog.
    I’m hoping to see the same high-grade blog posts from you in the future as well.
    In fact, your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own, personal blog now 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

