Home > NaNoWriMo > On Your Mark…

On Your Mark…

Sunday begins NaNoWriMo. I’m with you all in spirit. If you read this blog and are participating this year, by all means please comment below & let me know you’re out there.

A friend commented recently saying she likes the idea but can’t imagine having the time to do it, what with all that is on her plate. Not to sound hypocritical, but why not? 50K words breaks down to 1667 words per day for 30 days. If you write without regard to the actual quality of the story or plot, then a moderate typist can crank that out in about an hour, which can be broken up into chunks through the day. Think of it as a longer version of free writing. Give it some consideration! Remember, the book written by Chris Baty–who started NaNoWriMo–is called No Plot? No Problem! That gives us complete freedom to write anything that even somewhat resembles a story, no matter how disjointed and unreadable it is.

Just talking about it gives me the bug…

Categories: NaNoWriMo
  1. October 30, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    So why aren’t you doing it?

    • gtwade
      November 1, 2009 at 9:07 am

      That’s easy: among other valid reasons, I am falling asleep at the wheel of my car when I drive to work, and even on the weekend when I drive around. I feel impaired in the quality of my work both at my day job, in the congregation, and at home. I could stay up at night and write after everybody has gone to sleep, or get up early in the morning (which is what I did for NaNoWriMo 2007) but until The Boy is allowing me better quality of sleep, I think I should just be a wishful observer and realize my limitations right now. I have my eyes set on next year, or even the next JulNoWriMo.

      However, I do have November plans, and I’ll have a post out about that soon!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

